Have you seen our elephant? Avez vous vue notre éléphant?

Elephant Rock Fall

Elephant Rock underwent a major change this morning as approximately half the formation calved off onto Sea Cave Rock. Elephant Rock is a favorite among guests and is even featured on the New Brunswick Medicare card. It is exciting to see one of our 17 freestanding formations evolve into something new. Please keep in mind that the cliff formations are never 100% safe but are even more dangerous this time of year. This is a particularly volatile time for the rock as spring temperatures rise and the nights stay cold.


Avez vous vue notre rocher éléphant ?
Le fameux rocher éléphant à subie une grosse transformation ce matin quand la moitié ou à peu près 200 milles tonnes de roches ce sont effondré sur la formation de la caverne et sur le fond marin . La formation est très populaire pour nos invités et est la photo qui est sur la carte de Medicare du Nouveau-Brunswick. C’est toujours intéressant de voir une des 17 formations changer de forme dut a l’érosion, un processus qui ce produit continuellement depuis des millénaires. Ceci est un rappel que les rochers ne sont jamais sécuritaire à 100%, et ceci est une très bonne exemple du procès en action, surtout durant gel et dégel printanier. Un phénomène spectaculaire.

Here are some of the links of news agencies that covered the event:

CBC online http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/new-brunswick/hopewell-rocks-elephant-collapse-1.3492174

CBC radio interview http://www.cbc.ca/player/play/2685252187

The New York Times http://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/16/world/americas/a-provinces-rocky-symbol-collapses-into-rubble.html?_r=1

The Toronto Star http://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2016/03/15/new-brunswick-s-famed-elephant-rock-collapses-in-a-pile-of-rubble.html

Global News http://globalnews.ca/news/2578029/iconic-new-brunswick-rock-collapses/ The Ottawa Citizen http://www.ottawacitizen.com/news/national/brunswick+iconic+98elephant+rock+formation+just+collapsed/11786155/story.html

CTV News March 15th http://www.ctvnews.ca/canada/iconic-elephant-formation-among-n-b-s-hopewell-rocks-collapses-1.2817621

CTV News March 16th http://atlantic.ctvnews.ca/video?clipId=829323&binId=1.1145507&playlistPageNum=1

MSN http://www.msn.com/en-ca/weather/topstories/hopewell-rocks-partially-collapses-in-new-brunswick/ar-BBqsz1G

91.9 The Bend http://www.919thebend.ca/news/562672061/update-crumbling-elephant-rock-mother-nature-work

CBC online http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/new-brunswick/hopewell-rocks-new-brunswick-collapse-1.3491431

The Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2016/03/15/iconic-new-brunswick-flowerpot-rock-collapses-park-official_n_9464406.html Canadian Geographic http://www.canadiangeographic.ca/blog/posting.asp?ID=1887

The Manatee http://themanatee.net/nova-scotia-terrorists-attack-elephant-rock-to-derail-nbs-only-tourism-photo/

Radio Canada International http://www.rcinet.ca/en/2016/03/15/elephant-rock-collapse-in-new-brunswick/

The Globe & Mail http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/iconic-new-brunswick-flowerpot-rock-collapses/article29243718/

The Telegraph Journal https://www.telegraphjournal.com/telegraph-journal/story/46213980/one-of-hopewell-rocks

The National Post http://news.nationalpost.com/news/canada/new-brunswicks-iconic-elephant-rock-formation-just-collapsed

CBC Maritime Noon (starts at 6:20) http://www.cbc.ca/video/news/audioplayer.html?clipid=2685301281

CBC Information Morning Saint John http://www.cbc.ca/player/play/2685365847

Times and Transcript on March 15th & 16th CBC Information Morning Fredericton http://www.cbc.ca/player/play/2685372705

Subscribe

Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.